top of page
  • Writer's pictureExploreBCU

AMSTERDAM BUCKET LIST 2019


First and foremost, welcome to ExploreBCU! BCU (Birmingham City University) have great opportunities to go on field trips in and outside of the UK. I’ll be going to Amsterdam with university NEXT WEEK, which I’m very very excited for! For one of my uni project’s I’ll be documenting the trip on this website and Instagram (@explorebcu) by writing about the trip, taking photos and giving you a little taste of Amsterdam. To start this little journey off I thought I would share my bucket list for this trip. Don’t know if I’ll be able to achieve it all because we are only there for four days, but I’m going to give it a good go.


Museums


Anne Frank House

The Anne Frank House is a house turned biographical museum where a young Dutch Jewish girl lived during WWII and the holocaust. Anne Frank kept a diary during the time that her family were hiding in the house from the Nazi Soldiers and has since been released as a book. If you haven’t read the book, you defiantly should, it’s full of Anne’s witty humor and family dramas from am in hiding teenage girl’s perspective, which makes her story all the more insightful and heartbreaking. I’m excited to explore the house, museum and the ‘secret Annex’ to truly understand Anne’s incredible story.


Van Gogh Museum

The Van Gogh Museum is full of famous Dutch artist Van Gogh’s renowned, post-impressionist paintings, including Sunflowers, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom. I really enjoy looking at art exhibits, but you don’t have to be an art fanatic to appreciate Gogh’s beautiful paintings that are greatly inspired by themes of life such as anxiety, suffering, love and hope.


Rijksmeseum

Famous for being one of the most visited museums in Amsterdam and being the largest art museum in the country, the Rijksmuseum displays historic painting and features masterpieces by famous Dutch artists. The museum stands proudly behind the ‘I am Amsterdam’ statue that is featured in a lot of promotional material for Amsterdam’s central. I feel like this is a must go spot to check out and again I’ll be fulfilling my nerdy obsession with museums.


Moco Museum

If historic or post-impressionist art isn’t up your street, the Moco Museum features colorful and quirky modern contemporary art, with popular Banksy Laughing Now expedition and Roy Lichtenstein’s 3D instillation room. This museum looks really unique and will be amazing for photos or a cheeky Instagram.


Attractions


Canal Tour

Amsterdam is famous for its canals and slim, tall buildings. I really want to take a boat tour around the canals to see Amsterdam outside of the city. I love tours like this, it’s the perfect opportunity to see hidden scenery and take great photos.


Xtra Cold Ice Bar

Want to crack open a cold one with the boys? How about in -10 Degrees and with ice glasses? The Xtra Cold Ice Bar looks as though it’ll be great for friends that want to chill out and explore an ice cave with a drink in the middle of Amsterdam. Pretty much any excuse to go to a bar and I’m there.


A’dam Lookout and Swing

The A’dam Lookout stands with a fantastic view over Amsterdam’s Central, with an extra twist of having giant swings over the skyline so people can go over the edge and literally swing over Amsterdam. I actually enjoy heights, and this looks like A LOT of fun. Would love to go during sunset!


Bloemanmarkt (Flouting Flower Market)

Tulips are another one of Amsterdam’s recognisable features. The floating flower market is on a canal and has lots of beautiful tulips and flowers. Tulips are one of my favorite flowers, so my mission is to see as many of them as I can! (sadly I’m not in Amsterdam long enough to see the tulip fields but that will defiantly be a goal of mine for next time).


Food


PANCAKES! My goal for Amsterdam is to basically eat as many pancakes as I can. I’ve had a look at some of the best places to go for pancakes in and around Amsterdam and these places look AMAZING.


Corner Bakery- Amazing range of flavors and crazy milkshakes that look to DIE for.

Mama Kelly - Looks like they have some great cocktails and interior is so cute! Their Instagram is such an aesthetic and I’d be lying if I said that didn’t sway me to go. Pink EVERYWHERE.


The Breakfast Club- Mimicking a 60’s American diner with picture perfect pancakes!

Mook Pancakes- Mook looks like they have some classic, yummy pancakes and a great breakfast menu.


Van Wonderen Stroopwaffles-I heard the waffles from this café are INCREDICLE and I NEED to try it for myself.


Van Stapelle- Claimed to have the best cookies around and I’m ready to investigate the case.


So those are the places I am aiming to go to during the trip. Again, it’s a lot to do and I’m not sure how possible it’ll be to visit every place in only four days. I want to take my time and not rush around Amsterdam like a crazy person, but I’ll write an update after the trip of where I had been and what I thought.

Follow the Instagram page @explorebcu for updates, photos of the trip and stories documenting my experience! If you have any recommendations or tips for the trip, let me know!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page